Three MCC women selected for Nebraska Conference honors

Three McCook Community College women’s basketball players have been named to the all-Nebraska Community College Athletic Conference post-season team.

Sophomore Vanessa Jurewicz and redshirt freshman Taryn Lindsey, (Fountain, Colo.) were named to the first team and freshman Gemma Gruettner Bacoul received honorable mention.

Jurewicz, a 5-7 guard from Stockholm, Sweden averaged 15.4 points, 3.6 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game. He shot 40.2 percent from the field and 29.1 percent from the 3-point line and 72.8 percent from the free-throw line. She scored a season high 32 points Jan. 14 against Trinidad State and reached double figure scoring 24 times. For her career, she played in 62 games, averaged 14.8 points a game, 3.2 rebounds. 2.6 steals and 1.4 assists. Her two-year totals included 919 points, 196 rebounds, 161 assists and 87 steals. She shot 38.6 from the field, 30.5 percent from the 3-point line and 74.9 percent from the free-throw line.

Lindsey, a 5-5 guard from Fountain, Colo., averaged 12.1 points, 4.6 rebounds, and 1.5 assists per game. She made 147 out of 173 shots from the line this year. That 85 percent was 11th best in the country. In 30 games, she scored in double figures 17 times with a season high 31on Jan. 31 against Trinidad State. She hit 35.5 percent of her shots from the field, and 22.6 percent from the 3-point line. She finished the year scoring 363 points and grabbing 138 rebounds.

Gruettner Bacoul started 16 games for MCC. The 5-10 guard from Berlin, Germany averaged 7.0 points and 3.5 rebounds per game. She scored 18 points Feb. 20 at Central Community College – her season best –and reached double-figures in 10 games. Gruettner Bacoul had 37 steals, and 14 blocked shots for the season with 217 points and 107 rebounds.

For all the up-to-date information on MCC women’s basketball and all sports including schedules, statistics, rosters and photos, please visit the official website of MCC Athletics at

2023 All-Nebraska Community College

Athletic Conference Team

Vanessa Jurewicz, McCook

Taryn Lindsey, McCook

Madison Jelinek, Central CC

Amy Mitchell, Central CC

Nikie Nelson, Central CC

Jada Grigsby, North Platte

Reece Halley, North Platte

Fumnanya Ljeh, North Platte

Matalynn Campbell, Southeast CC

Jordan Koehler, Southeast CC

Kaylee Klover, Southeast CC

Honorable Mention: Gemma Gruettner Bacoul, McCook

Coach-of-the Year: Lynn Schlake, Southeast CC