Connect with us

Three Lady Indians earn more post-season hoops honors

Three McCook Community College women have earned more post-season awards from the Omaha World-Herald and the Nebraska Community College Athletic Conference.

Sophomores Gemma Gruettner-Bacoul, and Audra Vine earned recognition on the Omaha World-Herald’s All-Midlands Junior College team and they were both named to the all-NCCAC team along with Suzan Sisman.

Gruettner-Bacoul, Berlin, Germany, was named to the All-Midlands JUCO first team and all NCCAC team. She led the Region IX in scoring, averaging 18.2 points per game, was second in the south division in 3-point shooting, connecting on 38.8 percent of her shots, second in steals at 2.5 per game and third in rebounding with 6.6. For the season, she made 43.6 percent of her shots from the field and 77.7 percent of her free throws.

Vine, from Thornton, Colo., was an honorable mention pick for the All-Midlands JUCO team and first-team selection for the NCCAC. She averaged 9.1 points, 1.7 assists and 3.7 rebounds and shot 38.4 percent from the field and 36.2 percent from the 3-point line. In six Nebraska conference games she averaged 10.5 points, 5.3 rebounds and 1.3 assists per game.

Sizman, Aarhus, Denmark, was an all-NCCAC pick. She was second on the team in scoring at 10.1 points per game, 3.5 rebounds and 1.1 assists. She shot 76.5 percent from the line, taking 102 shots during the season. She scored a season-best 20 points against Central Community College Nov. 21 and scored 18 against North Platte on Jan. 30. In five of her six NCCAC games she scored in double-figures.

Nebraska Community College Athletic Conference

All-Conference Women’s Basketball Team

Gemma Gruettner Bacoul, McCook

Suzan Sisman, McCook

Audra Vine, McCook

Nikie Nelson, Central CC

Aubry Saleapaga, Central CC

Jada Grigsby, North Platte

Dazjanae Greene, North Platte

Sam Riggles, North Platte

Carney Black, Southeast CC
Matalynn Campbell, Southeast CC
Honorable Mention

Makenna Pelster, Central CC
Destiny Rakestraw, Southeast CC

Coach-of-the Year: Jeff Thurman, North Platte