Connect with us

Three MCC men picked for post-season honors


Three McCook Community College men’s basketball players have been tabbed for post-season awards from the Omaha World-Herald and the Nebraska Community College Athletic Conference.

Freshman Louie Tucker and sophomore Martel Evans were picked for the Omaha World-Herald’s All-Midlands Junior College team and they were both named to the all-NCCAC team along with freshman Bryan Akanmu.

Tucker, of Bristol, United Kingdom, led the Indians in scoring and rebounds, averaging 14.3 points and 6.6 rebounds per game. He shot 38.6 percent from the field, led the team shooting 35.9 percent from the 3-point line and made 73.8 percent of his free throws. He scored a season-high 27 points Dec. 2 against Laramie County Community College making nine of 17 shots from the 3-point line. He scored in double-digits 25 times.

Evans, who attended Omaha Creighton Prep, was second on the team in scoring with an average of 13.9 per game and grabbed 4.1 rebounds per game. He shot 47.7 percent from the field and 79.8 percent from the foul line. His best scoring game came Dec. 9 at Western Wyoming when he scored 30 points, going nine of 13 from the field and 11 of 16 from the line. He scored in double-digits 21 times and six times scored more than 20 points. He scored 689 points in his two years at MCC.

Akanmu, Paris France, scored 11.5 points per game and averaged 6.3 boards and 1.5 assists per game, shooting 44.0 percent from the field and 29.3 percent from the arc. He hit a season-high 30 points at Northeastern Junior College Feb. 13 and reached the double-digit mark 22 times.

Nebraska Community College Athletic Conference

All-Conference Men’s Basketball Team

Bryan Akanmu, McCook

Martel Evans, McCook

Louie Tucker, McCook

Blake Daberkow, Central CC

PJ Davis, Central CC

Frank Keller, Central CC

Bryan Baez, North Platte

Parker Bauman, North Platte

Justin Bolis, Southeast CC

Collin Tarver, Southeast CC

Honorable Mention:

Davion Evans, North Platte

Radek Pulsipher, Southeast CC

Coaches-of-the Year: Kade Erickson- North Platte and John Ritzdorf, Central